Congressional Pacific Islands Caucus Announces Addition of Congresswoman Aumua Amata Radewagen as a Co-Chair

July 26, 2022
Press Release

WASHINGTON — Today, the bipartisan Congressional Pacific Islands Caucus announced the addition of Congresswoman Aumua Amata Radewagen as a Co-Chair of the Caucus to take over for the late Congressman Don Young (AK).

“The Pacific Islands Caucus is doing important bipartisan work on behalf of our region, and I’m honored to take on this role cooperatively with these effective Congressional leaders,” said Congresswoman Aumua Amata. “The memory of Congressman Don Young is dear to me, as he was a mentor and an example. Congressman Young was especially effective for many years at advancing bipartisan efforts of interest to the Pacific, and we are carrying on that work. I look forward to working with each Co-Chair and Member of the Caucus, as each one brings perspectives and insight that can only strengthen our efforts for the Pacific Islands.”

Congresswoman Aumua Amata Radewagen’s longstanding ties to the Pacific Islands and her experience advocating for the region will make her an invaluable addition to the leadership of the Caucus. She is the first woman to represent American Samoa in Congress and has been a trailblazer for Pacific Islander women in Washington for decades. Her legislative accomplishments include the creation of the American Samoa Economic Development Credit and the passage of elements of her Economic Growth, Regulatory Relief and Consumer Protection Act, both of which support the financial and economic growth of her community in American Samoa. She has extensive foreign policy experience and currently serves on the House Veterans Affairs Committee and the House Natural Resources Committee, from which she is a consistent champion for Indo-Pacific issues.

She takes over as a co-chair for the late Congressman Don Young whose commitment to supporting the Pacific Islands, passion for his work and ever-present wit will be missed.

The Pacific Islands Caucus leadership is now as follows:

  • Congressman Ed Case (HI-01), Co-Chair
  • Congressman Ami Bera (CA-07), Co-Chair
  • Congressman Brad Sherman (CA-30), Co-Chair
  • Congressman Steve Chabot (OH-01), Co-Chair
  • Congresswoman Ann Wagner (MO-02), Co-Chair
  • Congresswoman Aumua Amata Radewagen (AS-At Large), Co-Chair

The Congressional Pacific Islands Caucus is an official U.S. House of Representatives bipartisan Congressional member organization. The Caucus was established in 2019 to advocate within Congress and elsewhere the importance of the Pacific Islands and the issues they face, demonstrate United States commitment to the Indo-Pacific and specifically to the Pacific Islands and assist in formulating and implementing sound national policy in the Indo-Pacific.